Tuesday, May 8, 2007

About Raleigh, NC

Raleigh was founded in 1792 as North Carolina's capitol city. It was named for Sir Walter Raleigh, who attempted to establish the first English colony on the shores of the new world in the 1580s.

Raleigh is the capitol of State of North Carolina and the county seat of Wake County. Raleigh is known as the "City of Oaks" for its many oak trees. As of the 2000 census, it had a population of 276,093, making it the second most populous city in North Carolina, after Charlotte.

Raleigh, Durham and Chapel Hill make up the three cities of The Triangle, so named in 1959 with the creation of the Research Triangle Park, a research park between Durham and Raleigh (mostly located within Durham County). The Triangle is a regional population, equivalent to the U.S. Census Bureau's Combined Statistical Area of Raleigh-Durham-Cary. Its estimated total population as of 2005 was 1,509,560.

Raleigh boasts more than 4,300 acres of parkland and almost 1,400 acres of water, offering recreational activities year round. A nationally-acclaimed greenway system spans 41 miles, providing walking, jogging and hiking trails that connect many of the city's 150 major parks.

Annual snowfall: 7 inches

Annual rainfall: 41 inches

Most importantly, it is home to our beloved Carolina Hurricanes, winner of the 2006 Stanley Cup, and our alma mater North Carolina State University.

For more information about this area, please visit:


For more information about our beloved Hurricanes:


No comments: